The Council has formally adopted Section 29 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 allowing it to grant the title of Honorary Freeman of Newton Abbot(minute 387/03/10).

A decision to bestow such an honour is required to be made at a meeting of the Council specifically called for that purpose. Additionally, at least two thirds of the Council must vote in favour of the proposal.

The rights attached to the honorary position are not stipulated in legislation, accordingly, this Council will invite its Honorary Freeman/Woman to all town and civic events and offer an open invitation to attend meetings of the Council and to speak (but not vote). A scroll and badge of honour will be presented to the Honorary Freeman/Woman.

Henry Cole was granted Honorary Freeman on 27th April 2011.  Henry was a Town Councillor from 1993 to April 2011.  Councillor Cole was elected Mayor for the year 2000-2001

Elsie Diana Nicholls was granted Honorary Freeman on 20th November 2013.  Mrs Nicholls was elected to what was then the Urban District Council in 1971 and remained on the Town Council until April 1991.  She was Elected Mayor of Newton Abbot for the year 1985 - 1986

Newton Abbot Town Council

Town Hall

Great Western House,

9 Devon Square,

Newton Abbot

TQ12 2HN

Tel: 01626 201120

Find us on Google Maps

Opening Hours:

Monday to Friday

08:30am - 01:00pm and

02:00pm - 04:30pm 

                                                                                                                                                                    Cyber Essentials Badge Large 72dpi                                                                                        

Newsletter sign up

Please type your full name.

Invalid email address.

Please fill in the numbers(*)
Please fill in the numbers
Invalid Input

SJ Xmas